EPIC Databases
Christchurch City Libraries is a member of the EPIC Consortia, and provides access to the databases purchased through the consortia. Note: our Ebscohost subscription covers more databases than are available through EPIC.
Books and Authors- What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 60,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards, all to help uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favourites, and discover award-winning titles.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Business Reference Suite- Includes Business & Industry (a multi-industry database with a strong global focus on company, industry and product information) & Business & Management Practices (focuses on the processes, methods and strategies of managing a business).
Access this at any of our libraries.
Contemporary Women's Issues- Multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press - with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Access this at any of our libraries.
Discovering Collection- In-depth reference content in the areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies. Very useful for secondary students
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Ebsco Megasearch- Access to thousands of full text magazines and abstracts. Our Ebscohost access includes: Masterfile Premier, Australia/NZ Reference Centre, Academic Search Premier, Health Source - Consumer & Nursing/Academic Editions, Business Source Premier, World Magazine Bank & Marshall Cavendish Science Reference Center.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online- Search over 118,000 articles, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags, from the complete 32 volume Encyclopædia Britannica, plus Britannica's Student Encyclopædia, Elementary Encyclopædia for younger students, and the Britannica Concise Encyclopædia.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Gale Biography Resource Centre- Biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Gale Literature Resource Centre- Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Over 90,000 authors covered, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Health And Wellness Resource Centre- Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on health and health issues. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
History Resource Center - World- Themes and trends from the history of ancient civilisations through to the 20th Century integrating reference sources along with full-text articles from more than 100 academic journals, and maps and images. Full-text and facsimile images for over 1,400 primary source documents.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
InfoTrac OneFile- A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
New Zealand Index- A collection of New Zealand-related databases where the information is indexed with a short abstract. Includes Newzindex, covering business in New Zealand in New Zealand journals and major newspapers from 1985 to 2006; NZ Science, a collection of scientific abstracts covering New Zealand science writing back to 1840; Newspaper Index (NINX) covering New Zealand newspapers from 1993-2003; Index Auckland, a record of information about Auckland; Index New Zealand (INNZ); The New Zealand Woman's Weekly Index of Names mentioned, 1932-1951; The New Zealand Herald's Family + Notices Classifieds since 2003. Index only.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as other reference content to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Oxford Art Online- Oxford Art Online - the gateway into art research and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and publications. Includes the on-line Grove Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Formery known as Grove Art.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Oxford English Dictionary- A searchable online version of the Oxford English Dictionary.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Oxford Music Online- Oxford Music Online - the gateway into music research and the access point for new and forthcoming Oxford music reference. Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music.
Formerly known as Grove Music
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
ProQuest Science Journals- ProQuest Science Journals is a growing collection which currently offers over 250 current publications in full text
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.
Student Resource Center- A comprehensive, cross-curricular reference source for high school and tertiary students. Results for searches on your topic can include encyclopedias, magazine and newspaper articles, primary documents, pictures, audio and video files. You can search for geography and cultures, history, literature, people, science and health.
Access this with your library card number and PIN, or at our libraries.

