Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library titles

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of over 100 electronic encyclopedias, almanacs and reference sources. Subjects include health, war, pollution, history, space science, maths, occult, food and fashion. Below is a sample of titles available.

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World.
Ed. Peter Bogucki and Pam J. Crabtree. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004.

This encyclopedia explores the many peoples of early European civilizations responsible for such accomplishments as the rise of farming in the Neolithic era and the building of Stonehenge. Coverage expands from prehistoric origins through the early Middle Ages (8000 BC to AD 1000) when tribal movements helped define the end of ancient culture and the rise of the modern European world. Illustrations, diagrams and maps.

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990.
Ed. Stephen Wasserstein, Ken Wachsberger, and Tanya Laplante. Detroit: Schirmer Reference, 2004.

This biographical reference includes more than 550 entries focusing on artists active from 1990-2003. Individual artists and groups in all popular styles are covered, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and crossover classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of music terms, a table of best-selling music since 1990 and more.

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990

Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th-Century America.
Ed. Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast. Detroit: U*X*L, 2002.

The hairstyles, slang terms, advertising jingles, pop music sensations, and all else described as popular culture is covered in this five-volume reference. Arranged chronologically by decade and by broad topics within each decade, this set focuses solely on the popular culture of the twentieth century, offering more detailed information on trends and fads than any other resource.

Bowling, Beatniks and Bellbottoms

CDs, Super Glue, and Salsa: How Everyday Products Are Made: Series 3.
Ed. Mei Ling Rein. Detroit: U*X*L, 2003.

Provides coverage of household and high-interest products. Alphabetically arranged entries illuminate the secrets behind the manufacture of a product through the details of its history, including who invented it and why; how it was developed and how it works; how and from what it is made; how the product might be used in the future; and a list of books, periodicals, and Web sites that offer additional information.

CDs, Super Glue, and Salsa: How everyday products are made

Contemporary Fashion.
Ed. Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf. 2nd ed. St. James Press, 2002.

A-Z of designers and fashion houses of the 20th Century. Essays and references to further reading in books, articles and web sites.

Contemporary Fashion

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion.
Ed. Valerie Steele. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005.

This broad-based set surveys clothing, body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. The set includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion

Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security.
Ed. K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner. Detroit: Gale, 2004.

Comprehensive, subject specific guide to the history and technology of espionage and intelligence. Contemporary security issues including terrorist organizations and possible terror threats are also listed.

Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture.
Ed. Solomon H. Katz. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003.

Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics, and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Entries range from 250 to 10,000 words each and are supplemented by 400 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines, and a comprehensive index.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture.
Ed. James S. Donnelly Jr. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.

Spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.

Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia.
Ed. David Levinson and Karen Christensen. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002.

3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally.

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia

Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology.
Ed. J. Gordon Melton. 5th ed. Gale, 2001.

Covers recent and historical phenomena, topics, concepts, cults, personalities, organizations, and publications associated with the study of psychic or paranormal events. Includes over 2,000 biographies of prominent individuals and personalities in these fields; country entries on the development of occultism and parapsychology; and pro and con narrative on some of the controversial topics.

Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology

Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages.
Ed. Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast. Detroit: U*X*L, 2004.

Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.

Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine.
Ed. Jacqueline L. Longe. Detroit: Gale, 2nd ed., 2005

Presents current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda, and osteopathy. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases, medicinal uses for plants and herbs, are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors.

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine 2nd edition

Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer.
Ed. Ellen Thackery. Gale, 2002.

Detailed entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures. Suggested questions to ask doctors, also references to further information in books, magazines and web sites.

Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer

Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders.
Ed. Stacey L. Blachford. Gale, 2002.

Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. References to further information in books, magazines and web sites. Symbol guide for pedigree charts and chromosome map.

Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine.
Ed. Jacqueline L. Longe. 2nd ed. Gale, 2002.

Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery: A Guide for Patients and Caregivers.
Ed. Anthony J. Senagore, M.D. Gale, 2004.

Written especially for patients and allied health care students by experts in the field, this encyclopedia covers approximately 450 surgical procedures and related topics, such as anesthetics, medications, and postoperative care. Entries include definition, purpose, demographic information, diagnosis/preparation, aftercare, risks, morbidity, and mortality rates, alternatives, and more.

Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery: A Guide for Patients and Caregivers

Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained.
Ed. Brad Steiger and Sherry Hanson Steiger. Gale, 2003.

Information on topics relating to magic, witchcraft, the supernatural, and other mysterious phenomena. Covers the history, people, and practices related to each topic, as well as popular literature, television programs, and movies related to the subject.

Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained

Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World.
Ed. Karen L. Hanson. Gale, 2002.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the foods and recipes of approximately 75 cultural groups from more than 60 countries. Entries provide 10-15 recipes for each group and include data on the agriculture and dietary habits of each group as well as an overview of each group's nutrition and health.

Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World

Mathematics.
Ed. Barry Max Brandenberger, Jr. Macmillan Reference USA, 2002.

Explores the functions of mathematics in daily life, as well as its role as a tool for measurement, data analysis, and technological development. This illustrated set also explains basic concepts of mathematics and geometry, and provides information on historical milestones, notable mathematicians, and today's career choices. Each volume includes photos, illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, and a glossary. For students and general readers.

Mathematics

Pollution A to Z.
Ed. Richard M. Stapleton. Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.

Provides the latest information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources, disposal, remediation, the ethical, social, and legal environment, careers, and much more. Articles range from topical essays on acid rain, cancer, noise pollution, and zero growth population to biographies on key figures.

Pollution A to Z

Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students.
Ed. Paul F. Grendler. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004.

Entries on a range of topics, including Florence, Galileo, heraldry, Medici family, opera, piracy, Shakespeare, Leonardo Da Vinci, and many others. Includes a master chronology with topical timelines, a bibliography with age-appropriate further reading sources, and a comprehensive index.

Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students

Science of Everyday Things.
Ed. Neil Schlager. Detroit: Gale, 2002.

Expands on the explanations of scientific principles and concepts using a straightforward, step-by-step approach. Presents theories in their everyday applications for further understanding.

Science of Everyday Things

Space Sciences.
Ed. Pat Dasch. Macmillan Reference USA, 2002.

A broad survey of the space sciences from the history of space exploration to the future of "space business". Includes biographies of scientists and information about the space-related job market. Chronology of space exploration.

Space Sciences

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
Ed. Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000.

Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.

St James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

Vietnam War Reference Library.
Ed. Kevin Hillstrom, Laurie Collier Hillstrom, and Diane Sawinski. Detroit: U*X*L, 2001.

The Almanac traces the progression of this controversial war from its beginnings in 1941 through its last days in 1975. Biographies contains comprehensive biographical essays on the people involved in the war. Primary Sources provides a variety of perspectives on the war through excerpted screenplays, literature, speeches, and hearing testimonies.

Vietnam War Reference Library

World War I Reference Library.
Ed. Tom Pendergast, Sara Pendergast, and Christine Slovey. U*X*L, 2002.

Presents comprehensive coverage of the World War I period. The Almanac contains 15 chapters covering major topics related to the period, including the root causes of the war and U.S. involvement. Biographies profiles the major players of the period, including Woodrow Wilson, Kaiser Wilhelm II and many others. Primary Sources presents full or excerpted primary source materials, including diaries, letters, speeches, journals, and memoirs related to the period.

World War I Reference Library

World War II Reference Library.
Ed. George Feldman, Barbara C. Bigelow, and Christine Slovey. Detroit: U*X*L, 2000.

Covers significant events, topics, and people related to the World War II period. Provides the in-depth information that students need to write reports and class assignments, including biographical profiles and primary source materials.

World War II Reference Library