New Zealand Post Book Awards for Children and Young Adults – Margaret Mahy Book of the Year

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

The New Zealand Post Book of the Year Award is one of seven awards sponsored by New Zealand Post. It is organised and managed by Booksellers New Zealand and supported by Creative New Zealand and Book Tokens (NZ) Ltd. Prior to 1997, the awards were known as the AIM Children’s Book Awards.

In 2013 the New Zealand Post Book of the Year was renamed the New Zealand Post Margaret Mahy Book of the Year award, to commemorate Margaret Mahy who died in 2012.


Cover of The Boring BookThe boring book
Vasanti Unka (Picture Book category winner)


Into the river
Ted Dawe (Young Adult Fiction category winner)


Cover of Nice Day for a WarNice day for a war
Matt Elliot; illustrated by Chris Sloane (Non Fiction category winner)


The moon & farmer McPhee
Margaret Mahy and David Elliot (Picture Book category winner)


Old Hu-Hu
Kyle Mewburn and Rachel Driscoll (Picture Book category winner)
Cover: Old Hu-HuHū Hū Koroheke
(Te Reo edition) translated by Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira


The 10pm question
Kate de Goldi (Young Adult Fiction category winner)


Snake and Lizard
Joy Cowley; illustrated by Gavin Bishop (Junior Fiction category winner)


Illustrated history of the South Pacific
Marcia Stenson (Non Fiction category winner)


Cover: HunterHunter
Joy Cowley (Junior Fiction category winner)


Clubs: a Lolly Leopold story
Kate De Goldi; illustrated by Jacqui Colley (Picture Book category winner)


Bird in the hand: keeping New Zealand wildlife safe
Janet Hunt (Non Fiction category winner)


Weaving earth and sky: myths & legends of Aotearoa
Robert Sullivan; illustrated by Gavin Bishop (Non Fiction category winner)


Cover: The Plight of the PenguinThe plight of the penguin
Lloyd Spencer Davis (Non Fiction category winner)


Voyage with Jason
Ken Catran (Senior Fiction category winner)


The house that Jack built
Gavin Bishop (Picture Book category winner)


A summery Saturday morning
Margaret Mahy; illustrated by Selina Young (Picture Book category winner)


Dare truth or promise
Paula Boock (Senior Fiction category winner)


The bantam and the soldier
Jennifer Beck; illustrated by Robyn Belton (Picture Book category winner)

Prior to 1997 - see Aim Book of the Year