New Zealand Post Book Awards for Children and Young Adults – Non-Fiction

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

The NZ Post Non-Fiction Award is one of seven awards sponsored by New Zealand Post. It is organised and administered by Booksellers New Zealand and supported by Creative New Zealand and Book Tokens (NZ) Ltd. Prior to 1997, the awards were known as the AIM Children’s Book Awards.

2014 finalists

Cover of An extraordinary land Cover of Anzac Day Cover of Flight of the honey bee Cover of The Beginner's guide to hunting and fishing in New Zealand Cover of Wearable Wonders


Cover: 100 Amazing Tales of Aotearoa100 amazing tales from Aotearoa Simon Morton and Riria Hotere (Winner)


Nice day for a war: adventures of a Kiwi soldier in World War I Matt Elliott; illustrated by Chris Slane (Winner and Book of the Year)


Cover of Zero HourZero Hour: The ANZACs on the western front Leon Davidson (Winner)


E3 call home Janet Hunt (Winner)


Cover of Back & BeyondBack & beyond: New Zealand painting for the young & curious Gregory O'Brien (Winner)


Which New Zealand spider? Andrew Crowe (Winner)


Cover of Illustrated History of the South PacificIllustrated history of the South Pacific Marcia Stenson (Winner and Book of the Year)


Scarecrow Army: the ANZACs at Gallipoli Leon Davidson (Winner)


Cover of Welcome to the South SeasWelcome to the South Seas Gregory O’Brien (Winner)


A bird in the hand Janet Hunt (Winner)


Cover of Weaving Earth and SkyWeaving earth and sky: myths & legends of Aotearoa Robert Sullivan; illustrated by Gavin Bishop (Winner)


The plight of the penguin Lloyd Spencer Davis (Winner)


Cover of The ZooThe zoo: meet the locals Colin Hogg (Winner)


Te wao nui a Tāne Hirini Melbourne; illustrated by Te Maari Gardiner (Winner)


The natural world of New Zealand Gerard Hutching (Winner)


The know, sow and grow kids’ book of plants Diana Noonan and Keith Olsen (Winner)


Picture book magic Chris Gaskin; photography by Denis Page (Winner)

Prior to 1997 - see Aim Non-Fiction Book