New Zealand Post Book Awards for Children and Young Adults – Picture Book

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

The NZ Post Picture Book Award is one of seven awards sponsored by New Zealand Post. It is organised and administered by Booksellers New Zealand and supported by Creative New Zealand and Book Tokens (NZ) Ltd. Prior to 1997, the awards were known as the AIM Children’s Book Awards.


Cover of The Boring BookThe boring book Vasanti Unka (Winner and Margaret Mahy Book of the Year)


Mister Whistler Margaret Mahy and Gavin Bishop (Winner)


Rāhui (Te reo Māori edition) Chris Szekely; nā Malcolm Ross ngā pikitia; nā Brian Morris i whakamāori (Winner)

Rāhui (English edition) Chris Szekely; illustrated by Malcolm Ross


Cover of The Moon and Farmer McPheeThe moon and Farmer McPhee Margaret Mahy and David Elliot (Winner)


Old Hu-Hu Kyle Mewburn; illustrated by Rachel Driscoll (Winner)

Hū-Hū koroheke (Te reo Māori edition) translated by Kāterina Te Heikoko Mataira


Cover of RoadworksRoadworks Sally Sutton; illustrated by Brian Lovelock (Winner)


Tahi - one lucky kiwi Melanie Drewery; designed and illustrated by Ali Teo (Winner)


Cover of Kiss! Kiss! Yuck! Yuck!Kiss! Kiss! Yuck! Yuck! Kyle Mewburn; illustrated by Ali Teo and John O’Reilly (Winner)


Cover of A Booming in the NightA booming in the night Benjamin Brown; illustrated by Helen Taylor (Winner)


Clubs: a Lolly Leopold story Kate De Goldi; illustrated by Jacqui Colley (Winner)


Cover of Cuthbert’s BabiesCuthbert’s babies Pamela Allen (Winner)


Cover of Pigtails the PiratePigtails the pirate David Elliot (Winner)


Brodie Joy Cowley; illustrated by Chris Mousdale (Winner)


Cover of Oliver in the GardenOliver in the garden Margaret Beames; illustrated by Sue Hitchcock (Winner)


The house that Jack built Gavin Bishop (Winner)


Cover of A Summery Saturday MorningA summery Saturday morning Margaret Mahy; illustrated by Selina Young (Winner)


Alphabet apartments Lesley Moyes (Winner)

  • Hairy Maclary, sit Lynley Dodd (Variant title Sit).
  • Midnight at the museum Richard Wolfe; illustrated by Pamela Wolfe
  • The sandman Esther Tamehana; illustrated by Kerry Gemmill (Published in te reo Māori as He tangata kirikiri)
  • He tangata kirikiri Esther Tamehana; nā Kerry Gemmill ngā pikitia (Published in English as The sandman)
  • Tane steals the show Lino Nelisi; illustrated by Gus Hunter (Published in te reo Māori as Tāne te whetū o te rā)
  • Tāne te whetū o te rā, manata korero Lino Nelisi; manata whakaahua Gus Hunter; nā Katerina Te Heikoko Mataira i whakamaori (Published in English as Tane steals the show)


Cover of The Bantam and the SoldierThe bantam and soldier Jennifer Beck; illustrated by Rosie Belton (Winner)

For awards before 1997 see Aim Picture Book.