5. Telegrams will be transmitted in the following order of priority:-

- (1.) Telegrams of the General Government marked urgent.
- (2.) Telegrams relative to the arrest of criminals or persons accused, or the discovery or prevention of crime.
- (3.) Telegrams relating to cases of pressing emergency, such as accident, sickness, or death, may be transmitted in priority to any others.
- 6. Telegrams may be written in cypher, which will be counted according to the following scale, whether for figures or letters:-Separate eyphers count as one word; groups of five cyphers, or fractional part of five cyphers, count as one word; groups exceeding five cyphers are counted at the rate of five cyphers to the word, and any fractional portion remaining is to be counted as one word.
- 7. Telegrams will be delivered free of charge within one mile of the station to which they may be transmitted by wire.
- 8. Should the sender of a telegram desire to have the telegram repeated, to insure accuracy, such repetition will be made at a charge of half the rate of the original telegram.
- 9. Telegrams may be taken from the sender with the word "Collect" written thereon, and in such case the payment for the telegram will be collected from the receiver of the telegram; but in the event of the receiver refusing to pay, the sender of the telegram shall be held responsible for the due payment thereof.
- 10. Telegrams may be taken from the sender of a telegram with the words "Reply paid" written thereon, and in such case the payment for the telegram in reply will be collected from the sender of the first telegram.

## URGENT TELEGRAMS.

Telegrams marked Urgent will be received at any Telegraph Station and transmitted as Urgent Messages in the order of their priority with other messages of the like code.

Urgent telegrams will take precedence of all ordinary messages.

The fee for an urgent telegram is double that charged for an ordinary telegram.

## DELAYED TELEGRAMS.

Delayed telegrams are now received at any Telegraph Station throughout the Colony for transmission, final delivery to the address given being effected by post.

The rates chargeable on all such messages are as follows, viz.: Sixpence (6d) for the first 10 words (exclusive of address and signature up to 10 words), and a halfpenny (1/d) for every additional word. Fractions of a penny in computing charges are not allowed. Senders of delayed telegrams are requested to give as full address as possible, and are also requested to write, in "Instructions" on the message, the word "Delayed."

In addition to the rates above mentioned, postage is charged as follows:-If the delivery is within the postal district of any town, one penny (1d); outside the postal district, twopence (2d). In dealing with these telegrams, the department undertakes to telegraph them to their destination on the day of their receipt, and to post them the same evening.

Abbotsford, Taieri Ahaura, Grey Akaroa, Akaroa Alexandra, Vincent Alexandra, Waipa Amberley, Ashley Arrow, Lake Ashburton, Ashburton \*Auckland, Eden Balclutha, Clutha Bealey, Selwyn Blenheim, Marlborough Blueskin, Waikouaiti \*Bluff, Southland Bull's, Rangitiki Burnham, Selwyn Cambridge, Waikato Carterton, Wairarapa W. Castlepoint, Wairarapa E. Kumara, Westland Caversham, Taieri Charleston, Buller Cheviot, Cheviot \*Christchurch, Selwyn Clinton, Clutha Clyde, Vincent Coalgate, Selwyn Coromandel, Coromandel Cromwell, Vincent Cust, Ashley Drury, Manukan \*Dunedin, Taieri Dunedin North, Taieri Dunedin Railway Station, Mataura, Southland Taieri Dunsandel, Selwyn Edendale, Southland Elbow, Southland Farndon, Hawke's Bay Featherston, Wairarapa W. Napier, Hawke's Bay Feilding, Manawatu Foxhill, Waimea Foxton, Manawatu Geraldine, Geraldine Gisborne, Cook Gore, Southland \*Grahamstown, Thames Greymouth, Grey Greytown, Wairarapa W. Hamilton, Waikato Hampden, Waitaki Hastings, Thames Hastings, Hawke's Bay Havelock, Marlborough Hawera, Patea

Helensville, Waitemata Herbert, Waitaki Hokianga, Hokianga Hokitika, Westland Hornby, Selwyn Horndon Junction, Selwyn Patea, Patea Hurunui, Ashley Hutt, Hutt Inglewood, Taranaki \*Invercargill, Southland Kaiapoi, Ashley Knikoura, Knikoura Kaitangata, Bruce Kakanui, Waitaki Katikati, Tauranga Kawakawa, Bay of Islands Reefton, Inangahua Kekerangu, Marlborough Richmond, Waimea Kopua, Waipawa Lawrence, Tuapeka Leithfield, Ashley Longbush, Southland Longford, Inangahua Lyell, Buller \*Lyttelton, Selwyn Maketu, Tanranga Malvern, Selwyn Manuka Creek, Tuapeka Manukau Heads, Manukau Springdon, Selwyn Manutahi, Patea Marton, Rangitiki Masterton, Wairarapa W. Tapanui, Tuapeka Mercer, Waikato Mohaka, Wairoa Mongonui, Mongonui Mosgiel, Taieri Motueka, Waimea Naseby, Maniotato Nelson, Waimea Newcastle, Waikato Newmarket, Eden New Plymouth, Taranaki Oamaru, Waitaki Ohaewai, Bay of Islands Waihola, Bruce Onehunga, Eden Ophir, Vincent Opotiki, Whakatane Opunake, Taranaki Orari, Selwyn Oreti, Southland Otago Heads, Peninsula Otahuhu, Manukau

Otaki, Manawatu Outram. Taieri Oxford, Ashley Palmerston, Waikouaiti Palmerston N., Manawatu Picton, Marlborough Porangahu, Waipawa \*Port Chalmers, Waikouaiti Pukorokoro, Thames Queenstown, Lake Rakaia, Ashburton Rangiora, Ashley Rangitata North, Ashley Riverhead, Waitemata Riverton, Wallace Rolleston, Selwyn Ross, Westland Rotorua, Tauranga Roxburgh, Tuapeka Russell, Bay of Islands Sanson, Manawatu Sheffield, Selwyn Southbridge, Selwyn Spit, Hawke's Bay St. Bathans, Maniototo Stirling, Bruce Tarawera, Wairoa Taupo, East Taupo Tauranga, Tauranga Te Awamutu, Waipa Temuka, Geraldine Te Nui, Wairarapa East Timaru, Geraldine Tokatea, Coromandel Tokomairiro, Bruce Tophouse, Marlborough Turakina, Rangitiki Upper Hutt, Hutt Waiau, Amuri Wakaia (Switzer's) Southland Waikouaiti, Waikouaiti Waimate, Waimate Waimate Junction, Waimate Wainui, Waipawa Waipahi, Southland