Inspector of Schools, J. P. Restell.

Provincial Surgeons: Lyttelton, W. Donald; Assistant, John Thomas Rouse: Christchurch, Parkerson and Stedman.

80

Pilot and Harbor Master: Lyttelton, A. Sproul; Beach Master, Timaru, B. Woollcombe.

Immigration Officer: Christchurch, Alexander Back; Assistant, David

Mackay. Immigration Commissioners; W. Donald, H. S. McKellar, J. T. Rouse.

Administrator of Charitable Aid: Alexander Back.

Consulting Architects, Messrs. Mountfort and Luck.

Police Commissioner, R. C. Shearman. Inspectors: W. H. Revell, Timaru; Frank Guinness, Akaroa; Sergeant-Major Pender, Christchurch; Clerk and Storekeeper, H. Walsh; two first-class Sergeants; three second-class Sergeants; four third-class Sergeants; nine first-class Constables; five second-class Constables; and nine third-class Constables.

Gaoler, E. W. Seager.

Principal Inspector of Sheep, P. B. Boulton, Central District; Inspectors: Henry Scarvell, Northern District; Andrew Paterson, Southern District.

Inspector of Weights and Measures, R. Brunsden.

Registrar of Brands, G. Turner.

Returning Officers for the Electoral Districts of Canterbury : For the Oxford, Rangiora, Town of Kaiapoi, Mandeville, City of Christchurch, Avon, Town of Lyttelton, Heathcote, Lincoln, and Port Victoria Districts, W. Donald; for the Town of Akaroa, Wainui, and the Bays' Districts, W. Weston; for the Rakaia and Ashburton Districts, E. Chapman; for the Town of Timaru, Waitangi, and Geraldine Districts, B. Woollcombe ; for the Mount Cook District, E. G. Stericker.

Poundkeepers : Christchurch, George Dell; Kaiapoi, M. Lynskey; Rangiora, C. Jennings; Akaroa, R. Williams.

Christchurch Hospital (under the inspection of the Provincial Govern. ment); Matron, Mrs. H. Bunting; Surgeon, B. Parkerson; Physician, Dr. Stedman; Resident Dispenser, Mr. Dalgleish; two nurses; one laundrymaid; one porter. Patients are admitted by order of the Superintendent, and contribute towards the support of the hospital a sum not exceeding 30s. a week, such payment being guaranteed by a written undertaking from the patient, accompanied (where possible) with the name of some respectable householder as a security. Visits from friends are permitted between the hours of 1 and 4 p.m. on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays, and at no other time, except by order of one of the medical officers. Officiating ministers of religion are admitted at all reasonable times, on application to the steward. Patients are admitted on Tuesdays and Fridays only, except in cases of emergency. No admission (except in cases of emergency) can be made without previous application at the office of the Provincial Secretary. Hours of admission, from 10 a.m. to 12 noon, and from 5 to 6. p.m.

Electric Telegraph : Head Office, Government Buildings ; Commercial office, Christehurch, Colombo-street; Lyttelton, Oxford-street; Temporary office, Heathcote Valley. Provincial Telegraph Engineer, Alfred Sheath. Staff, Christchurch: Chief Telegraphist, Abraham Sheath; Second Telegraphist, George Bird and J. Munce. Staff, Lyttelton: First Telegraphist, M. Keogh; Second Telegraphists, W. Tucker and G. Ross; Heathcote Valley, Stephen Macarthy.

Housekeeper, Government Buildings, Mrs. Potton.

Messenger, R. Whish.

Christchurch Municipal Council consists of nine members : Chairman, John Ollivier ; Members, Messrs. Isaac Luck, H. E. Alport, George Tribe, W. D. Barpard, E. B. Bishop, T. Pavitt, - Barrett, E. B. Burnell; City Surveyor, W. F. Moore: Town Clerk, George Gordon; Foreman of Works, Francis Pavitt; Inspector of Nuisances, William Pearce; Solicitor, W. T. L. Travers; Bankers, the Bank of New South Wales.

Provincial Council.

City of Christchurch: Richard Westenra, John Ollivier, J. S. Turnbull, M.D., J. G. Hawkes.

Town of Lyttelton : J. T. Peacock, Wm. Bowler, jun., Rowland Davis, George Buckley.

Town of Kaiapoi : Vacant.

District of Avon: T. S. Duncan, Chas. Bowen, sen., E. M. Templer, John Shand.

District of Akaroa : R. Rowe.

District of Ashburton : J. C. Wilson, C.B.

District of the Bays : M. P. Stoddart.

District of Geraldine : Alfred Cox.

District of Heathcote: T. Wilkinson, J. C. Aikman, J. S. Williams.

District of Luncoln : W. B. Tosswill, Charles Clark.

District of Mandeville : R. Rickman, Joseph Beswick.

District of Mount Cook : Vacant.

District of Oxford : T. W. White.

District of Port Victoria: A. Hornbrook, J. G. Fyfe.

District of Rangiora : Josiah Birch.

District of Rakaia: G. A. E. Ross.

District of Sefton : T. W. Maude, H. P. Lance.

District of Timaru ; Robert Wilkin.

District of Waitangi : W. H. Simms.

District of Wainui : J. Haylock.

Speaker, C. Bowen; Clerk of the Council, H. B. Quin; Clerk of Select Committees, G. Turner; Messenger, R. Whish.

OFFICERS OF THE GENERAL GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENT IN THE PROVINCE.

Customs

Lyttelton .- Deputy Commissioner of Customs, and Collector of the Province of Canterbury, Comptroller of Customs and Navigation Laws, and Registrar of British Shipping (under Imperial Acts of Parliament); also, Arms Licensing Officer, W. J. Warburton Hamilton, £550; Landing Surveyor, (also Emigration Officer under Imperial Passenger Acts), Alexander Rose, £300; Chief Clerk, Accountant, and Statistical Clerk, Edward Patten, £250; First Landing Waiter, O. J. Hodge, £185; Warehouse-keeper, Robert Elijah Bannister, £180; First Long-room Clerk and Cashier, R. La Nauze, (provisional), £175; Second Landing Waiter, -----, £160; Third Landing Waiter, W. Townsend, £150; Third Clerk, -----, £145; Weigher and Gauger, Edward Lysaght (provisional), £145; Fourth Clerk, William Helmes Grant, £135; First Locker, James