AIM Children’s Book Awards - Non-Fiction

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

From 1997, the award became the New Zealand Post Children’s Book Award - Non-Fiction. Here the winner is presented for each year followed by the other finalists.


Aya’s Story Jenny Scown, photographs by Trish Gribben


Which Native Forest Plant? Andrew Crowe


Old blue: the rarest bird in the world Mary Taylor


Picture magic Chris Gaskin

New Zealand Government Publishing Awards Children’s Book of the Year Award for Non-fiction

1987 - 1988

No awards


The story of New Zealand, by Judith Bassett, Keith Sinclair and Marcia Stensen