Storylines: Children’s Literature Foundation of New Zealand Notable New Zealand Books 2007

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

The list of Notable Books was established in 1999 to reflect the wide-ranging achievements of New Zealand authors and illustrators. It appears in February each year. The CLFNZ Notable Books list allows for the inclusion of picture books with offshore illustrators as well as anthologies.

Ten books in four categories have been selected, from the more than 150 books published during 2006.

Cover of Greedy catPicture books

Share Said the Rooster
Pamela Allen
A Present from the Past
Jennifer Beck, illustrated by Lindy Fisher
Riding the Waves: Four Māori Myths
Gavin Bishop [Also available in Te Re Whakaeke i ngā Ngaru: e Whā Tino Pūrākau translated by Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira]
Greedy Cat and the Sneeze
Joy Cowley, illustrated by Robyn Belton
Cover: BillyBilly
Kate De Goldi, illustrated by Jacqui Colley
Itiiti’s Gift
Melanie Drewery, illustrated by Fifi Colston
The Three Fishing Brothers Gruff
Ben Galbraith
Robyn Kahukiwa [Also available in Te Re Matatuhi translated by Kiwa Hammond]
Kiss! Kiss! Yuck! Yuck!
Kyle Mewburn, illustrated by Ali Teo & John O'Reilly
Barnaby Bennett
Hannah Rainforth, illustrated by Ali Teo

The judging panel would like to make special mention of Down the Back of the Chair by Margaret Mahy, illustrated by Polly Dunbar (Frances Lincoln). Margaret’s poem has been in print in a poetry collection for many years and therefore not eligible for inclusion in the list. However, the panel considers Down the Back of the Chair to be a treasure for New Zealand children.

Junior fiction

And Did Those Feet…
Ted Dawe
Cover: BoyznbikesBoyznbikes
Vince Ford
Ocean Without End: Book One of the Swashbuckler Trilogy
Kelly Gardiner
Frog Whistle Mine
Des Hunt
Thor’s Tale: Endurance and Adventure in the Southern Ocean
Janice Marriott
The Unquiet
Carolyn McCurdie
Mind Over Matter
Heather McQuillan
Old Bones
Bill Nagelkerke
Castaway: the Diary of Samuel Abraham Clark, Disappointment Island, 1907
Bill O’Brien