Whitbread Children’s Book Award

Christchurch City Libraries lists literary prize winners and links to catalogue searches, but we may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

Established in 1971, the Whitbread Book Awards aim to celebrate and promote the best of contemporary British writing. Sponsored by Whitbread PLC.

Dates are the year in which the books were published.

Costa Coffee announced 1 June 2006 a new sponsorship deal to take over the prestigious Whitbread Book Awards. The 2006 awards will be known as the Costa Book Awards.


The New Policeman Winner
Kate Thompson
Frank Cottrell Boyce
The White Darkness
Geraldine McCaughrean
Permanent Rose
Hilary McKay