Christchurch - a chronology


January 31
New Zealand’s first regular airmail service begins between Christchurch, Ashburton and Timaru.
February 15
Radio Society of Christchurch formed.
April 1
Spreydon Borough joins City.
July 30
Canterbury becomes the first New Zealand provincial rugby team to defeat the Springboks.
November 1
Woolston Borough joins City.
(no date)
Concert by violinist Jascha Heifetz.

Previous Year Next Year