Christchurch - a chronology


European population of Banks Peninsula approximately 80, mostly at whaling stations.
February 15
Chiefs Tairoa, Tuhawaiki and Karetai sell the South Island to John Jones and W. C. Wentworth for 500.
April 12
Sarah and Elizabeth lands Herriot, McGillivray, Ellis, Shaw (and wife) and McKinnon (with his wife and child) who try to establish a farm at Riccarton. They are the first European settlers on the plains. (see 1841)
May 28
Major Bunbury on HMS Herald visits Akaroa collecting signatures of Māori chiefs for the Treaty of Waitangi.
August 9
Captain Langlois in the Compte de Paris arrives in Pigeon Bay with 63 French settlers.
August 10
Captain Owen Stanley in HMS Britomart dashes to Akaroa and raises the British flag to proclaim sovereignty over the South Island.
August 19
French settlers land at Akaroa.

Previous Year Next Year