Storylines: Children’s Literature Foundation of New Zealand Notable New Zealand Books

The list of Notable Books was established in 1999 to reflect the wide-ranging achievements of New Zealand authors and illustrators. It appears in February each year. The CLFNZ Notable Books list allows for the inclusion of picture books with offshore illustrators as well as anthologies.


Picture books

Junior fiction

Special mentions

Just one more: stories by Joy Cowley, illustrated by Gavin Bishop. Although ineligible as much of the material has been published previously, the Storylines Notable Books Judging Panel considers this collection worthy of highlighting. The Judging Panel also made special mention of the Nitty Gritty series, published by Pearson Education, as a consistently good series for this age group.

Senior (young adult) fiction


Previous years’ lists