Christchurch - a chronology


January 27
Christchurch Domains Board constituted.
New Zealand Shipping Company registered in Christchurch.
February 19
Anglican synod decides (by a narrow margin) not to sell the present site of Christchurch Cathedral.
March 20
Death of pioneer doctor and photographer Dr. A. C. Barker.
April 2
First and second Town Halls destroyed by fire. It took 99 years to replace this civic amenity.
April 19
Christchurch Golf Club formed. The first course was in Hagley Park. There are now nearly 30 golf courses in and around Christchurch, making it New Zealand’s golfing capital.
December 1
Westland becomes a separate province. It had already become a separate county on January 1 1868.

Previous Year Next Year